Friday, September 25, 2009

John Mayer - "Who Says" & Other News

John Mayer officially released his new single, "Who Says" via Twitter this morning. The song has been circulating for a while, given the fact that John regularly plays the Hotel Cafe in California while working on new material. The official release date of his new album "Battle Studies" is November 17th, and so far he has announced 2 special shows with the John Mayer Trio. His 3rd Annual Holiday Revue will be at Copley Symphony Hall in San Diego on December 29th and he will also play The Joint @ Hard Rock Hotel in Las Vegas on New Year's Eve.

The tone of the lead single and other songs that have leaked is very introspective, as if he might be returning to a softer, acoustic side. "War of my Life" and "Heartbreak Warfare" have a sense of honesty that people rarely see, since he is usually shown in tabloids as a drunken bafoon. Honestly, I could give a shit about who he's dating, or how much his jeans cost. He makes great music and puts on an amazing live show. Fall/Winter tour details will be coming shortly. Right now, you get the first single and the other link is to a full, "secret" show earlier this year.

Hotel Cafe: 6.14.09

Who Says by theearlynerd

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Blakroc, you've been warned

Just heard about this the other day, and I gotta say I'm excited. The wonderfully talented Black Keys have made a hip-hop album with some great MCs (Mos Def, RZA, Raekwon & Qtip to name a few)under the name, Blakroc. You'll have to wait a while for this, it's scheduled for release on November 27th, but from the teaser (posted here) and the full length video on their site, it should be worth the wait.

Monday, September 14, 2009

U2 @ Soldier Field - 9/13

What happens when you put together a great band, average album and ridiculous stage? A bit of awkwardness, to say the least. There is no denying the fact that U2 is the biggest band on the planet, an honor they have earned by putting out great albums and even better shows. But the current 360 Tour and jaw dropping "claw" seemed too much even for them. Making matters worse, the recent "No Line On The Horizon" just doesn't seem to have the energy and attitude to keep up with such an overpowering stage.

I've never seen a U2 audience sit down so much, there simply was no momentum. With an unlimited arsenal of hits at their disposal, they instead chose to force SEVEN new songs on the audience. Of course it is a given that every band will play their new songs in an effort to avoid being a nostalgic act, but this album just doesn't have the hits. Showing poor judgement (a real rarity), U2 managed to take their most recent hit "I'll Go Crazy, If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight" and play it as a remix, leaving most people who wanted to sing along, lost and confused.

There were shining moments, the sing along during "I Still Haven't Found (What I'm Looking For)" gave everyone a moment to feel like something bigger, and better. "City of Blinding Lights" was gorgeous, showing the true beauty and power of the stage. I began to feel some energy as "Sunday, Bloody Sunday" with a little "Rock The Casbah" outro made Soldier Field shake. But that was just false hope as the show took a left turn into "save the planet, love everyone, you can change the world", slowing down "Walk On" and "One" to a crawl. By the time the closer, "Moment of Surrender" finished most people were already leaving the building or watching the embarrassing display of Cutler and Co. on one of the TVs by the concessions.

You might want to slurp off Bono, but anyone there last night didn't have the best experience possible and I expected much more from them.
1. Breathe
2. No Line On The Horizon
3. Get On Your Boots
4. Magnificent
5. Beautiful Day
6. I Still Haven't Found (What I'm Looking For)
7. Elevation
8. Your Blue Room
9. Unknown Caller
10. Until The End Of The World
11. Stay
12. Unforgettable Fire
13. City of Blinding Lights
14. Vertigo
15. I'll Go Crazy If I Don't Go Crazy Tonight
16. Sunday Bloody Sunday
17. MLK
17. Walk On
18. One
19. Amazing Grace
20. Where The Streets Have No Name
21. Ultraviolet
22. With Or Without You
23. Moment of Surrender