Monday, May 18, 2009

Cool Kids - Black Cab Session

For those of you who don't know about the Black Cab Sessions, the concept is simple. Invite an artist to play one song, in one take while riding in the back of a cab. At least this is normally how it goes, but the Cool Kids make the most of it, freestyling and have a good laugh while cruising London. Check out the site, they have some really great artists and post new ones all the time. My favorite is Bon Iver, but since Em decided to drop a craptastic album this week, I decided some real hip-hop deserved recognition.

Eminem - Relapse Review

Once upon a time Eminem ruled the world. That may seem like an exaggeration, but if you were able to escape Slim Shady from 1999-2002, you were either dead or living in a bomb shelter. After releasing "The Slim Shady LP", you simply could not avoid him. Everyone had an opinion from your little cousin to elected officials. But as B.I.G. said: "Mo Money, Mo Problems"... With every album came more awards, more lawsuits, more drugs and most importantly, more expectations.

Not counting Curtain Call (The Hits) and The Re-Up (Mix Tape), Relapse has been five years in the making and quite honestly, it sounds like it. What happened to the hit making, controversy stirring icon that had Marilyn Manson and Elton John on speed dial? When did he become so boring, even worse predictable? Produced by Dr. Dre, check. Song about Mom, check. Goofy single mocking current celebrities, check. Physical abuse, check. Violence, double check. One thing that has changed is Eminem's attitude. Some critics, notably Rolling Stone have praised the album for it's honesty and introspection, but I prefer him at his best, angry and hostile.

Maybe I expected too much. Maybe I wanted him to push the boundaries. Maybe I'll look at this record in a few years and see a real transition. Right now, I'm thinking, maybe he's just a one trick pony.

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Wilco - Cover, Tracklisting & Streaming

Although Wilco's seventh album, titled "Wilco (The Album)", is not scheduled for release until June 30th, the band is offering fans the ability to stream the entire album for free on their website. This of course comes after the fact that the new album has in fact leaked and is available on numerous sites. I haven't listened to it more than once, but fans should not be disappointed.

Here's the Tracklisting:
1. Wilco (the song)
2. Deeper Down
3. One Wing
4. Bull Black Nova
5. You & I
6. You Never Know
7. Country Disappeared
8. Solitaire
9. I'll Fight
10. Sonny Feeling
11. Everlasting Everything

As more and more albums get leaked, some as much as 2 months before their scheduled release. You have to wonder how much longer cds and record labels will be around? Why would an artist work so hard on material, just so they can hand it over to a label for a percentage of the profits and the possibility of a leak? But that's a topic for another time...

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

The Dead Weather & Conor Oberst Concert Info

As summer approaches, the calendar gets filled with more and more shows...

The Dead Weather will play 2 shows @ the Vic, July 28th & 29th. Any show that Jack White has played in Chicago has sold out. I'd expect this one to go quick, as well. A presale will happen tomorrow, Wednesday at 11:00 am. You will have to sign up for info on their website to get access to tickets. General on sale is not available at this time. I'd guess this weekend.

Conor Oberst & The Mystic Valley Band will play the Metro, July 14th. New dates were announced today, cryptically saying that tickets will go on "later this week". No on sale date or even announcement of the Metro's website. The new album is really good, but if you can't afford both shows, this one might not sell out.

I'm working on some more stuff, thanks for checking this out and the comments. Go see LIVE music, any live music.

UPDATE: The Dead Weather presale starts Friday @ 10am, password: tdw. Conor Oberst tickets go on sale at the Metro's website, Friday @ noon.

Friday, May 8, 2009

Pearl Jam Coming To Chicago

For those of you who may not know me very well, Pearl Jam is my favorite band, period. Over the years, they may have lost some of the celebrity status, definitely losing a large chunk of their earlier audience. But for those that stuck with them, they have continued to release entertaining music and perform exhilarating shows. Some of their demise, could be directly attributed to them, like refusing to make a video for their second album, VS. You could also say that music trends changed as they often do. Remember Biscuit? The sole purpose of this blog is to introduce you to good music and get you going to show, and without a doubt Pearl Jam is a band you have to see.

Pearl Jam will be returning for 2 shows this August (23rd & 24th) at the United Center. A presale is currently going on for the 23rd (password: brother), and both shows will go on sale tomorrow at 11:00 am. These 2 dates, plus another in Toronto are so far the only summer dates in North America, excluding festivals. I know some people may think catching any band from the 90's is a bit of a nostalgia trip, but like U2, they have continued to put out relevant music and know how to get a crowd roaring.

For those of you interested in a trip down memory lane, go see Poison or Journey! You also could buy the recently remastered version of their debut, Ten. Go to the website to check out the 4 editions they have available, it's just crazy how much they have put into the Super Deluxe Edition! Lazy people, I've attached a video for your viewing pleasure. Watch, then remember how awesome they are, then buy tickets...

Friday, May 1, 2009

Coldplay Live Album Set For Release May 15th

Coldplay announced today that they will release "LeftRightLeftRightLeft", a 9-song live album recorded during the Viva La Vida Tour. Fans attending the final leg of the tour will receive the cd at the gate. Even better, Coldplay will have the CD available for download on their website at no charge.
Here's the Track listing:
1. Glass Of Water
2. 42
3. Clocks
4. Strawberry Swing
5. The Hardest Part/Postcards From Far Away
6. Viva La Vida
7. Death Will Never Conquer
8. Fix You
9. Death And All His Friends

This is not the first time Coldplay has given away music. They released "Death Will Never Conquer" on the opening night of the tour, not to mention remixes and holiday singles. A good gesture from a filthy rich band. It almost makes me forget "X&Y"...